TGIF 3.3

        I am grateful for the one and only sassy trend. I was perusing her blog when I came across her friendly reminder for my TGIF series.

I am grateful for good sense: In the body, there are 5 natural senses (sight, hearing, smell, taste, touch) and its important to have all our senses intact. Some are robbed of these senses (eyes but cant see, ears but can’t hear etc). I met a mother who was complaining that her daughter has lost one of her natural senses. The daughter can place her hands on a hot stove and not know that its hot—can you imagine what damage this can do to a child? Can you imagine what damage you can do to yourself when you don’t use any of your senses—including your common sense.

I am grateful for God sense:  It is important to have good sense, but sometimes, we have to move beyond good sense to have God sense. Faith works according to God sense, ie, not in your natural body but within your spirit.  You need your natural senses to operate in this world and in the realm of sense and reasoning, but God does not move or operate in the sense realm. He operates outside the dimension of sense and reasoning. I understand that it is difficult to step out of the realm of sense and reasoning, especially, after you have spent years educating your mind to get them. It is also difficult to move out of that realm and step into the realm of faith to believe God, but to be able to understand the things of God, you will need to step out of that comfort zone and work with God sense.

I am grateful for my past: it spurs me on to where I am going. I am grateful cos thinking about what happened in the past motivates me to do better. There are stuff in your past that you may think about and it brings tears, embarrassment or even fear, but I am grateful for my past, I am grateful  because all those things helped in making me who I am today. Without my past, there wont be a present for me and without my present, there wont be a future. I use this opportunity to apologize to anyone who has been abused in any way and any form as a kid (sexually, mentally, physically, etc). Over time, I have heard various stories of kids who were sexually abused; its appalling no matter how, you want to christen it. I apologize for the parent that wasn’t there. I apologize for that friend or relative that took advantage. I apologize for what happened. If you have been abused and you don’t have any psychological side effects—please be grateful.

        Yesterday, I met a young girl, and her mom was complaining of her behavior. Mom talked about how she goes about sexually touching herself and others. Mom talked about her humping her pillows, even an episode where she walked in on her putting a hair clip inside her vagina, that is, after she has applied gel on the hair clip. Mom went on and on, and I could tell, this is not a matter of discovering her sexual side—something is wrong somewhere. One way or the other, this girl has been prematurely introduced to sex and its affecting her psyche. It was a sight to witness but if you have in any way been molested or abused and you don’t carry a psychological side effect—I apologize, I applaud you, but please, be grateful to God.

I am grateful for songs of Solomon: Have you ever read this good book? The first time you read it, you wonder how in the world it got inside a bible, but there’s a reason for that. Appreciate the people you love and compliment them. That book had something to say about almost every body part, and if you are in a relationship and lacking what choice of word to use for your partner, this might be it for you.

Moment of happiness: I am grateful for things that make us happy for a while and things that give us a lasting happiness. I recently went on a Nollywood/Gollywood maranthon and at the end of the day, the movies I can proudly say I liked were “Millenium lady”and playboy. It took me a while to watch the playboy cos I asked myself,  what else would happen in this movie if not that the guy is a playboy ,but I must confess that I haven’t watched a well crafted African movie in a long time and playboy was it. I recommend it, and if you have problem with Ghanian movies, put that aside and go grab your copy now. If you have watched it and you didn’t like it as much as I did, pele.

        Talking about good movie, I just saw Tyler Perry’s “I can do bad by myself” and it was aweeeesome. I was laughing and crying and laughing. It was a good way to spend $10.50. The theatre was so packed up and the only place I found a seat was first row. I had to keep my head up throughout, but did I complain? No, cos the movie was aweeeesome. Almost everyone stayed back to watch the blooper after the show. Did i already say the movie was great? Adding Adam Rodriguez wasnt a bad idea either, I could have sworn half of the women in the theatre came ‘cos of him.

I am grateful for you: Yes, you that is reading this right now. I am grateful for you. Have a wonderful weekend y’all!!!

                     My words, my views, my style! Naijagirl©2009!

Published in: on September 11, 2009 at 9:49 pm  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://naijagirl.wordpress.com/2009/09/11/tgif-3-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. really lovely thankful post…

  2. I never knew once could be thankful for their senses, especially the God sense. Hmmm…

  3. Hmm.. grateful for Songs of Solomon… That, is a new one o…

  4. What a lovely post. I am grateful for every single thing!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. How nice. I really need to re read song of solomon.

  6. have a lovely weekend too love.

  7. just changed my url…had to.

  8. I too am so thankful for my senses, but I’m also thankful for the inventions that allow those of us who don’t have perfect vision, for example to see well. Thank God!

    I hope your weekend was beautiful. God bless you.

  9. nice…I’m grateful 4 u 2…

  10. Why I’m I always missing your update?
    and why dont you blog often baby?
    I go cain you oo ‘cos as it were na kobokobo you need.

    Anyway, I’m on this one sha… hope you enjoed the weekend?
    Pele dear…

  11. And besides I’m so chuffed ooo…great thing I reminded you..lol
    xoxo

  12. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  13. Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂 🙂


Leave a Reply

