My purpose…

          This was supposed to be a response to Ochuko’s question, but I decided to turn it into a post. We hear people talk about purpose; we have books that tell us to identify our purpose in life, but not very many books show us how to identify our purpose. Sometimes, trying to identify what your purpose in life is can be a herculean job, but just like a mother forgets the birth pangs after she sees her baby, so do you forget the process when you eventually identify your purpose.

        I believe the bible said that each person was given a gift, and I always believe those gifts are to be used to accomplish something in life. Whatever it is you accomplish with such a gift may lean towards your purpose. Your purpose may be listening to people/friends/family/foes, providing a crying shoulder and giving them word of advice. It can be finding a way to better you family or town. It can be building an orphanage, putting all the homeless in a house; it can be anything big or small. The trick behind this is that most time, not everyone is passionate about such a task/issue as you.

          Sex, sports, family, travelling does not fit into my definition of purpose. However, they may lead you to your purpose, for instance if you love sex so much so, that you become an addict, you may use your experience as an addict to teach other sex addicts and to bring them out of their addiction. Furthermore, if your purpose was to provide housing for everyone in your village, you may not be able to do that without capital. However, if you dabble into some kind of sports and receive payment for it, you may have enough capital to fulfill your purpose.

               Purpose differ with individuals; Once upon a time, I had dreams and things I wanted to accomplish in life; thinking about those things gave me joy and drove me to doing things that would bring them into materialization. At first, I didn’t see them as purpose, but they gave me joy just thinking about accomplishing them. It took me a while to realize that was my purpose, especially as I realized that not everyone had the same mindset towards such issues.

         Your purpose might be a strong dream that you have; this is why I encourage people to dream big. When your dream seem stale or when you are done dreaming, get back on that mat and dream again–never stop dreaming, and when you do dream, dream big.

          In spite of all these, the purpose of purpose is to bring a positive difference.

     My words, my views, my style! Naijagirl©2009

Published in: on March 31, 2009 at 11:14 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://naijagirl.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/my-purpose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. very well said..3rd paragraph captures what i was trying to say on Ochuko’s blog about there being an underlying ‘core-concept’ that undergirds all the various manifestations of the things we are passionate about….

  2. Deep,really deep and true ma dear…
    Our purpose differ but do we find it and how???
    9ice post.

  3. lol when we are done dreaming go to the mat and drea, again. you are right. everybody has a purpose in life. sometimes it may take a while to find it, but we will eventually. like you said we need to dream big.. nice post as usual

  4. Someone famous once said… “Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.”

    Great stuff babe..

  5. Always good to dream big. Why dream of crawling when you can run!!
    No need limiting ourselves to just small dreams. Everyone has unlimited potential. Discover your purpose in life, that’s the key in discovering these potentials.

  6. Hmmm…

  7. Good stuff. I blogged about this some time ago as well [feel free to check it out :)] and my question echos Farida’s…find it how?

    It great you found yours with out even trying. I really do think it is essential to find ones purpose.

  8. @Danny….thanks buddy, that was what I was thinking about
    @Farida….thanks my dear. yeah we all have our purpose and we can find it; it may be easy or not. you can start off by listing down the things that you do that give joy when you do them; i mean things you are involved in that has to do with making a difference. After that, ffwd to things you wanna accomplish in life if given the opportunity or if all resorces were made available to you
    @BSNC….thanks jare, i am a strong advocate for dreaming
    @Roc…thanks hon, why dream small when you can go all the way
    @Blog…true, true. then again, you can discover your potentials and use them to discover your purpose
    @Mocha…lol, thanks for stopping by
    @Repressed one…thanks, i will be sure to check it out. you can check the answer i wrote for Farida, perhaps, it will work for you

  9. True words well written naijagirl.
    I was waiting for the replies before commenting.
    There’s this link you need to see, it’s somehow funny and I’d love to know your reaction to it. Visit this link – http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2005/01/how-to-discover-your-life-purpose-in-about-20-minutes/

  10. @Ochuko….forgive me for not seeing yur comment on time. I have visited Steve’s website and read that in the past. it might work for some people, but that exercise wouldnt work for me. I cant just wake up one morning and do that and figure it out. I have to be in the mood to think or talk of my purpose for me to figure it out. Another thing with that exercise is that there might be some kinda bias about your purpose based on where yu are in life or at this point as opposed to where you would wanna be. You might call your job your purpose but this may not be right. In any case, its a good exercise and a good place for anyone to start. it also gives a benchmark to knowing what your purpose is, which is taking time out to look deep into yourself and trying to figure the things you like….To find your purpose, you have to search deep within you


Leave a Reply

